Gracious? Merciful? Just? Ummmm. No.

As I was reading my Bible this morning, I came across a sweet verse. It is in Isaiah 30:18.ERV “So the LORD is waiting to show his mercy to you. He wants to rise and comfort you. The LORD is the God who does the right thing, so he will bless everyone who waits for his help.” The Lord is waiting to show His mercy. WOW! That is so cool. How often when people are bugging me, bothering me, pestering me, being disobedient to me do I wait to show them mercy? UM NEVER!
I am always ready to fight. I am the complete opposite of the old saying, “I am a lover not a fighter.” I find I am more ready to fight rather than love. 😦 How sad! I’m not sure why I fight and am combative. I tend to let that part overwhelm goodness and kindness and it beats down graciousness and gentleness. I don’t like it. So change I must!
Another verse came to mind right after that one. It is from Micah 6:8 GNT. “No, the Lord has told us what is good. What he requires of us is this: to do what is just, to show constant love, and to live in humble fellowship with our God.”

Nothing like a little heavenly discipline in the early morning hours.

I then read Isaiah 26:3-4 NIRV, “3 Lord, you will give perfect peace to anyone who commits himself to be faithful to you. That’s because he trusts in you. 4 Trust in the Lord forever. The Lord is the Rock. The Lord will keep us safe forever.”
My prayer that ended my quiet time was this, ” So God, please help me to keep my mind on you because through that I will be at perfect peace. I trust You forever Lord because You are my everlasting rock in which I can hide. Thank you for waiting to be gracious to me. May I also extend grace to my family as You do to me. Forgive me for not being more like You. Help me to walk justly, love mercy and walk humbly before you today. In Your precious name. Amen.
Wait to show mercy to someone today. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Gracious? Merciful? Just? Ummmm. No.

  1. Love this!!! So true for me as well– I’m stubborn and want things my way! Thankful that God is gentle and compassionate with me when I need guidance, direction and even discipline!

Leave a Reply

