Happy Sparkles Day Daddy!

My youngest, once again, graced our bed at about 6:35 a.m..  She rolled over the top of my husband and plopped into the middle of us with a pencil and a hardback search and find book that hit my shoulder. Peering through my sleep encrusted eyes, I whisper in her ear, “Tell Daddy Happy Father’s Day.” She then climbed on his side and pretending he was a horse and said while bouncing, “Happy Sparkles Day Daddy!”   🙂 Not only is he a fantastic husband, he is a superb amazing dad! I am glad God gave him to our family. 🙂 Something was lost there in the translation but he said thank you anyway! Oh, but how often do we misinterpret what people say because we aren’t really listening?? I do that so often when I am asked constant questions throughout the day.  Take the time to hear what people are saying and really listen because that is what makes them feel important.  What makes the people in your life feel important?

The following is from the book by Dr. Gary Chapman, The Five Love Languages and the website http://www.5lovelanguages.com/learn-the-languages/the-five-love-languages/   Words of Affirmation Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important—hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten. Quality Time In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there—with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby—makes your significant other feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful. Receiving Gifts Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous—so would the absence of everyday gestures. Acts of Service Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most want to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter. Physical Touch This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face—they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive.

Seek the best way to appreciate and meet the needs of the people in your life today. 🙂 What do they actually hear from you and the way you treat them? Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s