The man I call dad

We have recently moved in my with folks after the sale of our home. It has been such a huge blessing!!! We have big family meals, family bike rides and family movie nights.  Today was the first day since we moved in that my dad, who is retired, shared stories from his childhood. I wanted the kids to get to know him better since he will not be around forever. No one is guaranteed tomorrow.  He started to share his crazy little kid stories.  I never expected to hear that as a 4 year old, his dad bought him and old car and he took the whole thing apart with a screw driver, a monkey wrench and one other tool that I can’t remember.  I didn’t know that he started driving a jeep on the farm at 5 years old. I also learned that when he was in fifth or sixth grade he put and engine in that same jeep.

Then there were the stories of chamber pots, outhouses and laundry!

Today, intending my children to learn about my dad, I gleaned a great deal about the man I call dad.

Leave a Reply

