Gentle correction or gettin’ knocked on your rear?

Do you ever get that gentle correction from the Lord? Or do you just get that earth-shaking wake up call that knocks you on your rear letting you know you are being disobedient.  God uses whatever He chooses. It is not always a disobedience that He is correcting, but it may be that I am not spending enough time in the Word so He can speak to me. Sometimes He uses those, “AHA!” moments. Sometimes He does use illness. Sometimes He uses other people to let me know that I am falling short.  Sometimes He speaks directly to my heart.   This is what I got today…

Not in these words exactly but the Lord impressed this on my heart. “Tara, you sure are sick.  In the last month you have been in severe pain with a ruptured ovarian cyst and you now have the flu.  I am trying to get your attention here.”  “Yes Lord! I am listening.” As I lay on my bed He truly spoke to my heart and said, “I miss you dear one. Where have you been? You don’t even know where your bible is do you?”  UUUUUMMM well since you can’t lie to God, I said, “No, Lord I sure don’t! I am so sorry, please forgive me.

Wonderfully forgiven I sit here typing.  Then He let me know that I need to write about this. So here it is.  It doesn’t matter what situation you are in always make time for God. While you are on your back hacking up a lung, spend some time in prayer.

When needy children who are clawing and pawing at you surround you, read them a verse from the Bible.  (Not the rain down fire and brimstone people!) Pray a blessing of peace over them.  God’s word never returns void as it says in Isaiah 55:11 NLT “It is the same with my word. I send it out, and it always produces fruit. It will accomplish all I want it to, and it will prosper everywhere I send it.”

God has been trying to get my attention. It seems rather painful right now, but it could have been worse.  The CT scan shows no more cysts. My flu will eventually go away.  My husband and dad have been super heroes helping me.

God provides.

He never leaves us. He is, He was and Always will be. He is the provider. He is the Rock. He is everything to me.  He heals all my ills, affords me with great care. He never leaves me with a burden I can’t bear.  I am never alone. He is always near. He will never stop bending to me His listening ear. Unfaithful am I to share this truth.  May I be more like your beloved Ruth.

Forsooth. Gotta love that word!!! I wanted to use it in my poem, but, was unable to. I Used it in a random sentence.  🙂

Any way. Listen to the Lord He is pretty awesome!

8 thoughts on “Gentle correction or gettin’ knocked on your rear?

  1. You are so wise my friend….sorry I sounded so snotty on the phone…so unchristian of me…so much going on…I pray you feel better tomorrow

    Sent from my iPad

    • I don’t think you sounded snotty at all! You have a very full and challenging life and God gives you the strength to make it through each moment. That is why I believe God gave us to each other as friends. He is good isn’t He? I didn’t even notice 🙂 but I did pray for you as soon as we got off the phone! Love you bunches!! God has your back friend and so do I. Sending prayers up to the throne for you. Tara

  2. Tara,
    I sent you an email, but I’m not sure if the address is correct. I have enjoyed reading about your family and life on your blog. You sound like God is still very much the center of your life. I look forward to meeting your youngest, and my girls can’t wait to play with your girls. Please let me know if there is a better way to communicate with you.

Leave a Reply

