What is rotting under the house!!?

This past week there has been a stench permeating our bathroom and bedroom. At first we thought someone “missed” the toilet. Then we thought perhaps there was a leak in a shower pan or the tub. Maybe a pea trap is plugged? Alas, it was not that sort of smell! We did smell check all over the bathroom and realized that seeping through the floor boards, was the putrid odor of something dead!

 We opened the windows, turned on candle warmers, sprayed Lysol (and whatever else we could find finally we lit candles about the house. Nothing really helped take away the unpleasant smell.

 As I sat there in that same rotten smelling bathroom, thinking about the parallel to sin, I was disgusted not only by the bouquet of death permeating my life and surroundings, but sorrowful for the things that the Lord is revealing to me about my life and the sins He finds as offensive as the dead carcass rotting under my home. Hidden sins that are locked underneath the darkness of my heart rotting my life. Sometimes, there are sins that we don’t even realize are there until the Lord reveals them to us! Resentment or hatred or lying may be the culprits? Possibly bitterness is eating away at our hearts? The list goes on and on! These things invade our lives, our homes, our marriages and our families.

What can we do about that awful smell?

 Did I humble myself  and go under the house to investigate and be confronted with the reality that what I see may just make me physically ill?  I have not!

Have I spent the time listening to the Lord and asked Him to point out the sins that have crept in and gotten sealed up without my realization? I had not until now.

 He wanted a very vivid picture for me to remind me that there is no reason for rotting sins to reside in my home, His temple.

So for the next several (I would like to say minutes, but let’s be honest here) hours, I asked God and  to reveal to me places that were rotting in my heart. I prayed and listened to His gentle revelations.

The verse “Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.” Psalm 51:10 Was the gift He gave me to me and as I prayed to be cleansed I was spiritually cleaned. I asked Him to forgive me for accepting the stench and for allowing it to leach out into the rest of my life just as it had in my home.

 God, thank you for loving us despite our sins and though they are like filthy rags, you wash us white as snow. (Isaiah 1:18 “Come now, let us reason together, says the LORD: though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red like crimson, they shall become like wool.”)

Is there anything rotting under your house???

Leave a Reply

