My Rock. My Fortress. My Refuge.

I find myself caught up in the people pleasing stage currently. I want so desperately to find some success in one thing. JUST ONE, when many other areas of my life are swirling out of control. Time constraints and deadlines loom, yet ministry still happens. Loving well in the time of frustration is a requirement. Not by me or from those around me will I find success, but by HIM and in HIM. God wants us to pour out, love others and be an encouragement. Yet, if a water pitcher is not full, is there any water to give? If there is no coffee in the pot, can I share it with a friend? NOPE! Therefore, how can I share God with my coworkers, my children or my friends? How can I reach those dark places in the lives of the ones I love? I can’t. Plain and simple. Without being proactive with my time in the Word, I am like a watered down cup of coffee. What is the point? Just as I would want to maintain a close relationship with a friend, I also have to make it a point to want to be close to Daddy. ABBA. God.

Do I wait for the approval of others to fill that hole in my heart? If I do that, I will never feel successful. Never feel accomplished. Never feel good enough. Which is not what we were created to do. We are created in His image to praise Him. Feed His sheep. Love our neighbor as ourselves. Be filled with His love.

Instead, we spend our days scrambling to find success and pleasure when all we become is wrung out, like a wet and soggy dishcloth hanging limp over the faucet on the sink.
So today honestly, I sat down after on the floor with my Bible after not finding success or worth in what I do and opened my Bible to Psalm 50:16-17. I began to read. I found such great calm in my morning, which up until now has been more like a tornado.

“But I will sing for Your strength; I will sing aloud of Your steadfast love in the morning. For You have been to me a fortress and a refuge in the day of my distress. O my Strength I will sing praises to You, for You O God are my fortress, the God who shows me steadfast love.”

He is the only one I have to please, my audience of one. If I am doing all things for His glory, then I am successful. If I am trying to train our children in His ways, there is success, even though the outcome isn’t what I would like to observe. If my job isn’t getting done the way I desire, and I don’t have the praise I crave, I am doing it for Him not for them.

God, today I need You. I need You to take over every part of my life. I can’t live well without You. Psalm 62:5-8 says, “ For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from Him. He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken. On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God. Trust in Him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us.”

Lord, thank you. Thank You that Your Word is so powerful. Thank You for loving me where I am, in what I am doing, and how I am doing it. Thank You for redeeming me, carrying me and being my refuge. In Jesus name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

